CC6 race 31 January

Just to remind you all that the next CC6 race is on the 31 January at Stoney Cross 9.30am.  This friendly cross country race is open to all, just bring you club vest!  The race is 4.2 miles, and is located at Stoney Cross on the B3078 in the New Forest, parking is located several hundred yards from the start so please leave a little time to transit.  The course includes 2 laps of the middle section culminating in a climb to the finish.

Remember all abilities welcome, and this year our woman's team is in pole position, so a good turnout should keep us in the running.  Car sharing is always welcome.  And remember this will make a wonderful finale for you wadac winter warmers.




CC6 update 

Just a quick thank you for everyone who helped last Sunday above Badgers Farm with making the 4th edition of the CC6 races a success.  No incidents to report and the cakes were gratefully received.

Just an update on the next race.  It is scheduled for the 31st January at Kings Enclosure Stoney Cross (9.30am) in the New Forest and not the earlier date as publicised in prior posts.  As usual everyone welcome (15 and plus), just bring your club vest, and its free.  More details on


Call for marshals for the CC6 race at Badgers Farm

Its that time of year when the club hosts the CC6 race at Badgers Farm.  Can you (and your friends) help marshalling the race on Sunday 10 January?  No experience necessary, just a willingness to help out at a friendly local race.  

All you need to do is turn up at 8.30 on Sunday morning on Whiteshute Ridge (by the picnic table) above Badgers Farm Sainsburys, Winchester.  The whole thing takes about 2 hours.  If you can volunteer some time please let me know beforehand.  The fixtures also attract home bakers too, so if you fancy providing some cake for those hungry runners (and marshalls) please bring them along too!

For details contact me at 

Fixture update:  The next race after Badgers Farm will be taking place on the 24 January at Kings Enclosure, rather than the following weekend at earlier advertised.


Hampshire Cross Country Champs 2016, last chance to enter!

Don't forget to enter the first XC of 2016, the Hampshire Championships on Saturday the 9th January at Fairbourne Manor near Botley. Entries on the club website have now closed so please enter yourselves online at:


Winchester Ladies triumph again at CC6!

The festive edition of the CC6 races was run last Sunday at Janesmoor Pond, and I am pleased to announce that our Winchester Ladies team came first.   This time beating Stubbington by just one point.  It was great to see some new faces, and the welocme return of Lynne Whittaker leading the Winchester women.  Our men have strength in depth with plenty of mid scoring places but unfortunately we were unable to compete in the top ten places, with Southampton dominating.  However the abundance of santa marshalls, cakes and even a festive grotto along the way was a welcome novelty for all competitors.

The next race will be hosted by the club (with SAC and Running Sistters) at Badgers Farm on the 10th January. So no running, but we need plenty of marshalls.  If you are able to attend (or bring a friend/family) please arrive on Whiteshute Ridge at 8.30am.  But please let me know beforehand if you intend to assist.  

We will be running a reconnaissance on New Years Day at 1pm.  Again if you are interested in helping out let me know and I can tell you what to bring!